Summer To-Do List

With 5 finals to study for this coming week, the obvious solution to this problem is to go ahead and come up with a list of tasks to do for the summer, right? Indeed. 

  • Study for LEED Green Associate‘s Exam – I’ve been meaning to do this since last Fall but between classes and ASCE-related business, I found little time. However, with summer comes no classwork and more time. 
  • Workout at least 4 times a week – for the same reason as above, I’ve been slacking in the fitness department this past couple of months. Last summer my college had limited facilities but now our new Co-Rec is open which means I actually enjoy working out in our new, state-of-the-art facility. 
  • Further my proficiency with BIM software – I learned how to use Autodesk’s Revit program during my sophomore year of high school and I’ve used it quite often since. However, A/E firms these days are increasing their use of BIM software and therefore it’s a preferred skill when looking to hire. Consider this a way to increase my ‘marketability.’ 
  • Learn how to use more Energy Modeling software – I want to learn how to use more versions of Energy Modeling software (EnergyPlus, eQUEST, etc.) for the same reasons I want to further my expertise with BIM software. As an Architectural Engineer, most of my work will or may rely heavily on energy models. 
  • Go day-hiking more – I love the outdoors and I can’t wait to have the time to finally go on more hikes and possibly go camping. Last summer I went canoeing with some friends for the 4th of July and it was a jolly good time. I hope to do a similar outing this summer, with a higher frequency. 

There may be more but as I sit here chastising myself for not studying I cannot think of any more activities. Until I think of more consider this my tentative Summer To-Do List.

Leave a Reply

